The best photos of the year unveiled: discover the winning shots

Sony’s iconic World Photography Awards have just taken place at a prestigious ceremony in London with prizes awarded in 10 different categories.

This year’s winners included images shot around the world with photography ranging from stories of war and reconciliation to women’s empowerment through education and original approaches to the genres of still life and sport.

At the global event, Sony also unveiled its Photographer of the Year with this coveted award given to acclaimed photographer Edgar Martins.

His Our War series, which was selected as one of the 10 winners in the category, is a tribute to Martins’ friend, photojournalist Anton Hammerl, who was killed during the Libyan civil war in 2011.

“It’s a huge honor to be recognized and although I’m a philosopher about awards and the subjective nature of someone’s choice, to know that there were over 180,000 entries in this year’s professional competition , it’s very humbling,” Martins said after winning the top prize. .

“In this case, it’s also quite a moving experience because I get to honor my friend on a world stage and bring attention to the plight of the family to find his remains. No award has the same significance as the Sony World Photography Awards.

Other winners include Al Bello for his “Female Pro Baseball Player Succeeds in All Male Pro League” series and Corey Arnold for his “Cities Gone Wild” series.

Another major award announced at the evening was this year’s Outstanding Contribution to Photography. In 2023, it was awarded to the famous photographer Rinko Kawauchi. She has gained international acclaim for her intimate and luminous images, capturing moments of daily life.

You can see some of the images below, but the full range of photos can be seen at Somerset House, London, from April 14 to May 1, 2023.


WINNER: Fan Li (Mainland China) for his Cement Factory series

WINNER: Lee-Ann Olwage (South Africa) for her series The Right to Play

WINNER: Hugh Kinsella Cunningham (UK) for his series The Women’s Peace Movement in Congo

WINNER: Marisol Mendez (Bolivia) & Federico Kaplan (Argentina) for their Miruku series

WINNER: Kacper Kowalski (Poland) for his Event Horizon series

WINNER: James Deavin (UK) for his Portfolio submission

WINNER: Edgar Martins (Portugal) for his series Our War

WINNER: Al Bello (USA) for his Female Pro Baseball Player Succeeds in All Male Pro League series

WINNER: Kechun Zhang (Mainland China) for his series The Sky Garden

WINNER: Corey Arnold (USA) for his Cities Gone Wild series

Post source: Express

Leave a Comment