Magic and Cookie Johnson Honored at Elizabeth Taylor Ball

The Elizabeth Taylor AIDS Foundation (ETAF) announced Tuesday that NBA Hall of Famer Earvin “Magic” Johnson and entrepreneur Cookie Johnson will be memorialized at this year’s Elizabeth Taylor Ball to End AIDS on September 21 at the Beverly Hills hotel. Magic and Cookie Johnson will both receive the Elizabeth Taylor Commitment to End AIDS Award at the ball.

Paris Jackson and Christine Chiu are the co-chairs of this year’s gala. The event will host a number of 270 guests entertained by a live auction in partnership with Chiu featuring a number of art/luxury experiences, a live performance and an exclusive look at items from the Elizabeth Archive Taylor.

“We loved Elizabeth Taylor’s passion, activism and work together in the fight against HIV and AIDS,” Magic and Cookie Johnson said. “Since this journey began in the early 1990s, we have dedicated our lives to raising awareness and funding programs to stop the spread of HIV and AIDS. We would like to thank the Elizabeth Taylor AIDS Foundation for recognizing our commitment to an AIDS-free world by honoring us with the Elizabeth Taylor Commitment to End AIDS Award at this year’s gala. While there is still work to be done, we appreciate the recognition and look forward to continuing to advocate for those who need it most.

The Magic Johnson Foundation’s (MJF) “I Stand With Magic” program ran from 2006 to 2009, providing free HIV/AIDS testing to approximately 80,000 Americans in 16 different cities. The program served as an educational tool to inform citizens about HIV, the associated risk factors and the importance of testing.

“The Elizabeth Taylor AIDS Foundation is grateful to Earvin ‘Magic’ and Cookie Johnson for accepting to be honored with the Elizabeth Taylor Commitment to End AIDS Award at this year’s gala,” said Catherine Brown, Executive Director of the Elizabeth Taylor AIDS Foundation. “The Johnsons’ courage, compassion and empathy over the past 30 years have had a tremendous positive impact on people living with HIV and AIDS.

Shelly Johnson elected president of the American Society of Cinematographers

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Board of Governors has elected Shelly Johnson as the organization’s 47th president.

Additionally, Vice Presidents Charlie Lieberman, John Simmons, and Patti Lee; treasurer Charles Minsky; secretary Dejan Georgevich; and Sergeant-at-Arms Chris Chomyn join the new CSA roster.

Johnson is a graduate of the Art Center College of Design and has worked on a variety of television and film projects, including the 1997 retelling of Stephen King’s “The Shining.” Johnson has also worked on other feature films, including ‘Jurassic Park III’, ‘Percy Jackson: Sea of ​​Monsters’, ‘The Wolfman’, ‘Captain America: The First Avenger’ and ‘Greyhound’.

“ASC’s collaborative spirit will continue with a continued focus on industry education, mentorship and diversity awareness,” Johnson said. “Our members embrace new technologies and are eager to develop the latest tools to facilitate the creation of images that resonate with audiences. Our doors are open as we welcome all artistic and technical minds who venture to develop meaningful storytelling.

The ASC is a non-profit organization “inspiring the next generation of cinematographers and advancing the art of filmmaking through numerous industry events and initiatives”.

Leave a Comment