AAFCA to honor Sherry Lansing, plus Special Achievement Awards

The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) will honor innovators and icons at its 6th Annual AAFCA Special Awards Luncheon, featuring Sherry Lansing, Rita Cooper Lee, Dr. Jennifer Turner and Wonya Lucas who will receive prizes.

Lansing, producer and studio executive, will receive the Legacy Award for her contributions to the industry as well as her philanthropic efforts.

Turner, executive vice president of TriStar Television, will receive the Salute to Excellence award for her leadership and commitment to quality programming with an eye on inclusive casts and storylines.

Related story: Will Smith makes a rare appearance to accept the 2023 AAFCA honor (video)

Wonya Lucas, President and CEO of Hallmark Media, will receive the TV Vanguard Award for her vision and leadership in guiding the media brand into the future.

Cooper Lee, communications and advertising manager for Apple Worldwide Video and Apple TV+, will receive the inaugural Rosalind Stevenson Award for Excellence in Advertising.

Additionally, the documentary A Tree of Life: The Pittsburgh Synagogue Shooting will receive the Stanley & Karen Kramer Award for bringing to light the 2021 Pittsburgh synagogue shooting and exploring the undercurrent of hate that threatens to destroy America.

“Pioneers and titans alike abound in this year’s selection of special achievement recipients,” AAFCA President and Co-Founder Gil Robertson said in a statement. “Recognizing their incredible accomplishments gives us a moment to reflect on the progress that has been made as our industry continues to evolve.”

The AAFCA Special Awards Luncheon takes place Saturday, April 8 in Marina Del Rey, CA.

Leave a Comment